Raising a lab puppy.. the things nobody tells you

Ellie recentt

Hey everyone! Hope you are all having a great day!

This is my precious lab puppy (aka. daughter), Ellie!

She is almost 8 months old, and let me tell you.. she was A LOT harder to raise than I thought she would be. Puppy’s are HARD WORK!! Since I have learned the do’s and don’ts of raising a Labrador Retriever puppy, I am going to share what I think are 5 things nobody tells you.

1. They will chew up everything you care about

I am not sure exactly what it is about lab’s, but they LOVE to chew! Ellie has chewed up 3 pairs of my shoes until they were unrecognizable, and several of my boyfriend’s hats without blinking an eye. As puppies, they are teething, so it is natural for them to want to chew. My advice is to invest in a lot of chewing toys and bones. Here are a few of the things that worked great for Ellie.

rawhide bone

rawhide bones

rubber bone

Rubber bone

sock monkey

sock monkey

2. They will go through at least one bag of puppy chow a week

Young puppy’s can eat and eat and eat.. and just when you think they are full, they will eat again. They are bottomless pits! One thing my boyfriend and I have discovered is that Ellie loves “dog food cereal”. That is when we put milk in her dog food bowl to make it like cereal. She gulps it down in a matter of 3 seconds. It is by far her favorite. We stopped feeding her puppy chow about a month ago, but she still gets “dog food cereal” from time to time. I recommend these puppy food brands. They seem to have the best quality, and they have never given Ellie any stomach problems.

purina puppy chow iams puppy chow

3. They will be able to get anything they want from you, using their puppy dog eyes of course

I know you have heard the saying “don’t give me the puppy dog eyes”. Well, labs are the BEST at the puppy dog eyes. Somehow they are just born with the talent to make you give them whatever they want. When my boyfriend and I first got Ellie, we decided not to let her eat any people food.. needless to say, that did not last long for me! I was very quick to cave into her adorable green puppy eyes! They are just simple irresistible.

20130731_230344

4. You can NEVER have too many pee pee pads

If you are planning to keep your lab inside, then you will need a lot of pee pee pads. Labs aren’t small dogs and they don’t have small bladders, so they don’t have to go to the bathroom very much when they are older. However, that isn’t the case when they are puppies. To avoid accidents in the house, pee pee pads do just the job. They aren’t hard to set up and they are easy to clean up. Ellie had no problem learning to use one either. After about 2 days of being exposed to it, she caught on quickly and used one until she started staying outside!

peepee pads

5. You will love him/her like one of your children

I have had Ellie for almost 8 months now, and my heart still melts when she looks at me. It is hard to explain, but I love her like I would love one of my children (if I had children). She is the cutest, sweetest dog I could have asked for. I predict that if you get a lab puppy, or already have one, you will feel the same way abut him/her.

Even though raising a Lab puppy is hard work, it all pays off in the end when you have a companion that loves you just as much as you love him/her. I love Ellie like a child, and I hope you can experience that type of bond with a lab or any dog! Lab’s make great family pets or great pets for just one person. They will keep you entertained because they are always getting into different things! No matter how hard it was to raise Ellie, it will always be worth it to me.

love always,

Hallie

2 thoughts on “Raising a lab puppy.. the things nobody tells you

What do you think?

